12
Jun
09

cue serious music

I spent a lot of time in hospitals as a kid. Kind of comes with the territory when your dad’s a preacher, ministering to the sick and whatnot. His duties kept him out late a lot of nights, and my mom’s main selling point was that it would be good for both of us if I accompanied him on his rounds a few nights a week. I realized early on, however, that the plan was born more out of necessity than any bonding opportunity: my mom had begun working nights and they didn’t know what else to do with me. It all served to confirm my growing suspicion that grown-ups didn’t have some magical knowledge to help them navigate the world; they just did what they needed to skate by, inventing the why after the fact to fit the what.

I came to this realization pretty abruptly one night while my dad was reading scripture to Mrs. Feeney, and when I did, a calming feeling washed over me and I stopped worrying about how the vinyl back of a chair in this waiting room wasn’t a very good surface to do my math homework on so it’s hard to focus and maybe that’s why my grades haven’t been so good this year.

It was a lesson that prepared me, perhaps uniquely, for the trials to come later in my life, and I sometimes think that some higher power- if not the God, at least a god- knew I would need the ability to shoulder burdens, often alone, without being overcome by them. Regardless of the origins, I’m glad I learned the skill, because about a month after my fourteenth birthday, I discovered that I had gigantic bat wings and the ability to start fires with my mind.

1 Response to “cue serious music”


  1. 1 Karen
    June 13, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I found you from your Craigslist plea and am enamoured with your witty, winning ways.
    I love words and putting them together, looks like you do as well, and very well, I might add.

    You are now on my favorites list.
    Thank you


Leave a Reply

